National Steering Committee

The Social Cohesion Advocates Programme is made up of 12 Workstreams, the Leads of which make up the National Steering Committee.

Xoliswa Bam

Women’s Empowerment and Gender Equality

Sipho Mantula

Sport and Recreation

Catherine Constantinides

Climate and the Environment

Dr Reverend Vukile Mehana

Economic Growth and Inclusion (linkages with business)

Joseph Norman Radebe

Social Inclusion and Community Building

Cresencia Nyathi

Lead of Youth Social Cohesion Advocate Programme

Mzi Bhembe

Children’s Rights and Positive Parenting

Dr Yaa A Archer-Ngidi

Advocacy and Education

Dr Rajendran T Govender

Arts, Culture & Heritage

Edwin Cleophas

Community Development, Safety & Social Justice

Eleni Ratheb

Media and Communication

Nomasonto Mazibuko

Disabilities and the Rights of the Elderly – Commissioner
Our Chair, Angie Makwetla has been out of action since March 2020 due to illness. We honour her and hope that she will rejoin us soonest. We also wish to remember our dear colleague Mr Rajen Reddy, who passed away from COVID-19 related complications earlier this year. He is deeply missed.

If you have any proven and tested projects that you would like to share with our Workstream Leads, please email to get in touch.